Transcribed from History of Jewell County, Kansas, with a Full Account of the Early Settlements and Indian Atrocities Committed Within Its Borders; Its final Settlement, Organization and Progress, Its Present Society, Churches and Schools, Its Towns, Streams; Topography; Soil and Products, Its Population; Township Organization and Officers, Its Industries; Business, Resources, Etc. by M. Winsor and James A. Scarbrough, Jewell City, Kansas, Diamond Printing Office, 1878. Transcribed by Carolyn Ward, 2001.

1878 History of Jewell County, Kansas

Allen Township

is situated in the extreme southeast corner of Jewel county; it is six miles square and is well watered by Buffalo and Little Cheyenne creeks, on which a liberal supply of good native timber is found. These streams afford good running water all year round. In addition to the timber, there is a most abundant supply of building stone, of excellent quality, from which good, substantial houses are built.

The First Settlers

of Allen Township were A.J. Davis, John B. Keyes, M.L. Stults, M. Betzner, Milton Sadler, William Jones, Ed. D. Randall and R.M. Brigham.

Allen Township was organized August 10, 1872, and was named in honor of our present efficient County Clerk. When organized M.L. Stults was appointed Trustee; Geo. W. Clark, Clerk; D. McKellar and ---- [blank in original] Rogers Justices of the Peace, and W. Lattimore, Constable. The majority of these officers were elected at the first regular election the next spring.

Taken as a whole, Allen is a fair average township, with regard to the beauty and fertility of the lands; the energy and intelligence of its people; its numerous well cultivated farms and its neat and substantial farm houses, all of which speaks of thrift, happiness and prosperity.

Schools and Churches

There are two good, substantial school houses in the township--one in District No. 23, and the other in District No. 52, in both of which regular terms of school are taught,and religious services held by the Presbyterians and Methodists.

The public land is all taken, with the exception of School land, and all that is sold that is worth buying.

The Present Township Officers,

elected November 6, 1877, are Jonathan Corn, Trustee; Milton Sadler, Clerk; J. Chitty, Treasurer; P.F. Pierce, and W. R. Phillips, Justices of the Peace, and M.W. Loop and Thomas J. Hutchison, Constables.