Transcribed from History of Jewell County, Kansas, with a Full Account of the Early Settlements and Indian Atrocities Committed Within Its Borders; Its final Settlement, Organization and Progress, Its Present Society, Churches and Schools, Its Towns, Streams; Topography; Soil and Products, Its Population; Township Organization and Officers, Its Industries; Business, Resources, Etc. by M. Winsor and James A. Scarbrough, Jewell City, Kansas, Diamond Printing Office, 1878. Transcribed by Carolyn Ward, 2001.

1878 History of Jewell County, Kansas

Harrison Township

lays on the divide between the Republican river and White Rock creek. The surface of the country is rolling, sloping to the north and south. It is well watered by Ash, Oak, Augur and Crooked creeks, running north, and Hoag, Knob, Norway and Taylor creeks, running south, on nearly all of which there is considerable timber. The township is thickly settled by a good class of citizens and the society is excellent.

The First Settlers

were George Harrison, James Marion, Isaac Donahoo, John McClure, Geo. S. Hill, Morris Morrison and Martin Morrison, the first two coming in February and the remainder in April, 1871. The township was originally one-half in White Rock and the other half in Big Timber. It was organized an an independent township April 13, 1874.

The First Township Officers

were Peter Van Ornam, trustee; G.M. Jacobs, treasurer and A.O. Bacon, clerk.

Schools and Churches

There are six school districts, in five of which there are school houses, in which regular terms of school are taught. There are three church organizations -- the Bible Christians, Methodists and German Methodists, all of whom have regular preaching. There are three Union Sunday Schools, all in a flourishing condition.

The Present Township Officers,

elected November 6, 1877, are J.M. Armagost, trustee; James Essex, clerk, H.B. Forrey, treasurer; J.C. Armagost and D.S. Kenney, justices of the peace, and D.A. Rogers and A. Buttler, constables.