Transcribed from History of Jewell County, Kansas, with a Full Account of the Early Settlements and Indian Atrocities Committed Within Its Borders; Its final Settlement, Organization and Progress, Its Present Society, Churches and Schools, Its Towns, Streams; Topography; Soil and Products, Its Population; Township Organization and Officers, Its Industries; Business, Resources, Etc. by M. Winsor and James A. Scarbrough, Jewell City, Kansas, Diamond Printing Office, 1878. Transcribed by Carolyn Ward, 2001.

1878 History of Jewell County, Kansas

Vicksburg Township

was organized at the first meeting of the Board of County Commissioners, August 22, 1870, and was composed of Townships 3, 4 and 5, Range 6.

The First Election

for Township officers took place at A.J. Davis' house, April 3, 1871, and resulted in the election of O.F. Johnson, Trustee; Thos. Dale, Treasurer; A.J. Highland, Clerk; James Fogle, Jr. and Abraham Alsdurf, Justices of the Peace; J.M. Welch and Jeremiah Burnett, Constables.

The First Settlers

as the township now stands, were: Captain O.F. Johnson, Mathias Hofweimer, Lewis Speigle, Wm. R. Friend, C. James Jones, Abraham Alsdurf, George Zimmer, James Fogle, Jr., Thomas Dale, William Taylor and Silas Mann, all of whom settled in the Township in the fall of 1870, the three first taking their claims August 11, 1870.

The First Marriage

in the township took place June 17, 1871, Captain O.F. Johnson and Miss Elizabeth Zimmer being the contracting parties. This was also the first marriage in the county, standing No. 1 on the marriage record of the Probate Judge's office.

The Township is well watered by Marsh creek and its tributaries. Its present territory is township 4 south, Range 6 west, and contains six miles square of excellent table land, rich and productive. Its inhabitants are intelligent, moral and industrious. It contains four school districts, in all of which regular terms of school are taught. Every quarter section of land in the Township is taken, nearly all of which contains actual settlers. Its present population is 441.

The Present Township Officers,

elected November 6, 1877, are Edwin Wertenberger, Trustee; John Kissinger, Treasurer; J.K. Adams, Clerk; A. Alsdurf and J.K. Adams, Justices of the Peace; J.A. Bell and B.F. Hardin, Constables.


the only town in the Township is a thriving, enterprising little place, started in 1877. It contains a post office, two general stores, two blacksmith shops, and several handsome private residences. Johnsonville, named in honor of Captain O.F. Johnson, is a post office near the center of the Township.