Wilson County Kansas
Township Histories

Prairie Township

The township history material was taken from the Historical Atlas of Wilson County Kansas published in 1881, and submitted by Bill Bentley.

Prairie Township. - This is the newest and smallest township in the county. It was framed out of Center, Guilford and Verdigris tps., July 9th, 1872, and a special election for selecting officers held Aug. 3d, 1872. Thirty-six votes were cast and the following named persons chosen: G. L. Polson, Trustee; L. Q. Hobbs, Clerk; E. H. Bailey, Treasurer; J. W. Walker and Sam'l Hill, Justices. Geo. Bowman, Edward Davis and Samuel Hill, were the first settlers. Bowman located in 1866, Hill in '66 and Davis in '67. The township was all settled up by mid-summer, 1870.

Additional histories included are:

Tom & Carolyn Ward
Columbus, KS

Background and KSGenWeb logo were designed and are copyrighted by
Tom & Carolyn Ward
for the limited use of the KSGenWeb Project.
Permission is granted for use only on an official KSGenWeb page.

Last updated 12/20/1998

Return to
Wilson County